GPS Points of Interest

General information about the club, grading etc..
Wasif Ahmed
Rank: Senior
Location: On the verge of Insanity
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:41 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 3:45 pm

I downloaded the speed cam file and uploaded on my GPS but it is not working.

In fact now my old proximity alerts are also not working anymore.

Help Please.
--
Wasif Ahmed
overdose
Rank: Senior
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:09 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 4:33 pm

1 Open SmartST software on your computer.
2 Using the USB cable connect the Navman to the computer. It will sync with your PC and start up.
3 On the menu bar SmartST software choose Map/POI/File, then Open Text File and locate the csv file that you have downloaded from POIplaza.
Once opened it will appear in the window showing the details.
4 Choose File, Save to Device and the POI Options window will open giving you the opportunity to select ACTIVE – VISUAL AND AUDIO ALERTS,
and the Distance at which you wished to be warned.
5 This is the time to choose the Icon to be displayed for this POI. Choose Browse, select the directory to which it was saved and select the *.bmp file to be displayed.
6 Clicking on OK you will be offered to Copy POI. Choose this option. If you are renewing old data, your option will be to Replace Existing File.
7 When POI has been successfully downloaded select OK.
8 Launch navigation.

Note: The POI may be displayed as an inaccessible location if the map you are using is not sufficiently detailed.
--
overdose
Wasif Ahmed
Rank: Senior
Location: On the verge of Insanity
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:41 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:08 pm

What kind of GPS are you refering to. Mine is a Garmin Nuvi 710. Is this proceedure different for this device.

BTW what GPS are you using ?
--
Wasif Ahmed
overdose
Rank: Senior
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:09 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 5:16 pm

My garmin mobile xt / route 66 / igo8 is running on windows 6.5 handheld

The one in the car is running route66 / destinator 6 / igo 8 on windows CE

i use NaviComputer / noniGPSplot / Everytrail to record routes
--
overdose
pseacraft
Rank: Senior
Location: Missing my Navigator...
Posts: 583
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 10:56 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 6:43 pm

Wasif - if you are using Garmin's POI Loader make sure that you defined the Proximity Settings for each file that you loaded. It will ask you for each file. If you are loading via Mapsourse then You need to ensure that each waypoint is configured for proximity alerts.
--
pseacraft
Wasif Ahmed
Rank: Senior
Location: On the verge of Insanity
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:41 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 7:21 pm

pseacraft wrote:Wasif - if you are using Garmin's POI Loader make sure that you defined the Proximity Settings for each file that you loaded. It will ask you for each file. If you are loading via Mapsourse then You need to ensure that each waypoint is configured for proximity alerts.
I will need soem help on this from teh "experts" . I was using the POI loader and the message was that they have been succesfully loaded but when I pass or come close to a speed cam it is not beeping like it did before.
--
Wasif Ahmed
overdose
Rank: Senior
Location: Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates.
Posts: 133
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2010 7:09 pm

Mon Mar 08, 2010 8:06 pm

when you go to Settings --> Proximity Points ---> Audio Notification ---> select "Continuous - All Alerts"
--
overdose
Paddi
Rank: Junior
Location: Dubai
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2010 3:13 pm

Thu May 13, 2010 10:09 am

Hi my friend jst read ur post... I have been using special as well for the past 2yrs in my hummer h3, jst wanted to know what would be the advantages if i shift to eplus.
Wasif Ahmed
Rank: Senior
Location: On the verge of Insanity
Posts: 3942
Joined: Sun Oct 25, 2009 8:41 pm

Thu May 13, 2010 10:14 am

Paddi wrote:Hi my friend jst read ur post... I have been using special as well for the past 2yrs in my hummer h3, jst wanted to know what would be the advantages if i shift to eplus.

Paddi.

Special has a higher Octane Rating than E Plus. Recommend you stick with Special as E Plus will give you poor performance since the Hummer is designed for a higher octane rating than E Plus.

E Plus is in my opinion only good for taxi's and to fill the tank of a rental car you migh be using !

In my FJ I try to use Super at all times as it is the hifgest octane rating availabe. It will give me more power, burns cleaner and will also give better mileage.
--
Wasif Ahmed
tintin
Rank: Senior
Location: In my own little world
Posts: 2616
Joined: Mon Oct 26, 2009 6:58 pm

Thu May 13, 2010 10:17 am

Wasif Ahmed wrote:Paddi.

Special has a higher Octane Rating than E Plus. Recommend you stick with Special as E Plus will give you poor performance since the Hummer is designed for a higher octane rating than E Plus.

E Plus is in my opinion only good for taxi's and to fill the tank of a rental car you migh be using !

In my FJ I try to use Super at all times as it is the hifgest octane rating availabe. It will give me more power, burns cleaner and will also give better mileage.

Strangely WA I agree mate :smiley3: Super is better for teh engine of high output rigs like ours. The toy boxes like Sahar may be ok with e-plus, but any real 4x4 needs real 4xfuel :smiley10:
--
tintin

Return to “General Information”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest